News, Newsletters & Subscription
You are here:   Home  /  الإذاعة  /  106 – إبراهيم سهلون

106 – إبراهيم سهلون

enar

 

002-MAQ-A, Mouhamed El Aqqad, Bashraf Suzdalara I 011-ISL-1-B, Ibrahim Sahloun, Taqsim Hijaz

 

موسيقيٌّ عربيٌّ وعازف كمانٍ ساهم في النهضة الموسيقيّة العربيّة التي بدأت مع عبدو الحمولي ومحمّد عثمان في مصر في النصف الثاني من القرن التاسع عشر.

لا نعرف بالضبط تاريخ مولده، لكن يبدو أنّه وُلد في أربعينات القرن التاسع عشر، هناك مصدرٌ ذكر أنّه وُلد عام 1850، كما تضاربت الأقوال عن مكان مولده، أغلب المصادر الشفهيّة والمكتوبة تقول أنّه وُلد في القاهرة، والقليل منها يذكر أنّ مولده في الأسكندريّة لعائلةٍ وافدةٍ من إيطاليا، يبدو استنتاجاً من كلام كامل الخلعيّ أنّه من أوّل من عزف على الكمان دون المرور على الربابة، وأنّه قد أخذ عن حسن الجاهل، الذي تذكر بعض المصادر أنّه تحوّل من الربابة البحريّة إلى الكمان الإفرنجيّ الموضوع على الكتف، والذي كان يُعرف في مصر بالكمانجة الأفرنجيّة، وفي برّ الشام بالكمنجة الرومي.

من بعض الاطّلاع على دفتر تشريفات وأحوال القصر الخديويّ، نرى اسم إبراهيم سهلون يتردّد ضمن المشاركين في حفلات القصر منذ عام 1868، وهذا زمن الخديوي إسماعيل، كما أنّه كان ضمن الوفد المُرسل للباب العالي من قِبَل الخديوي إسماعيل، أواخر أيّام السلطان عبد العزيز في منتصف سبعينات القرن التاسع عشر. ويبدو أنّه أخذ هناك العديد من الأعمال الآليّة من بشارف وسماعيّات إلخ، على أنّ معرفته تعذّت هذا إلى الموسيقى في اليونان، وهذا ما يأتي ذكره لاحقاً.

من هذه البشروات التركيّة نستمع إلى بشرف عشّاق تلحين عثمان بيه الطنبوري، وهو واحدٌ من أبرز موسيقيّي البلاط العثماني أيّام السلطان عبد المجيد فعبد العزيز فعبد الحميد، والبشرف من مقام العشّاق التركيّ وهو أحد أفرع البيّاتي في التنظير العربيّ، سجّله إبراهيم سهلون مع عبد الحميد القضّابي ومنصور عوض لشركة بيضافون حوالي عام 1912 على وجهين قياس 27 سم رقم 12516 12517…

أخذ إبراهيم مكان حسن الجاهل بعد رحيله كعازف الكمان في تخت عبدو الحمولي الذي هو تخت العقّاد، وكانت هذه نقلةً نوعيّةً في حياته، حيث أضحى واحداً من اثنين اعتبرهما الناس المتربّعين على عرش عزف الكمان في هذا الزمان. والعازف الثاني هو أنطون الشوّا، حيث عمل سهلون مع تخت الحمولي، والشوّا على تخت محمّد عثمان.

ويبدو أنّه بعد رحيل عبدو الحمولي، قرّر إبراهيم سهلون تكوين تختٍ خاصٍّ به مع استمراره في العمل ضمن تخت محمّد العقّاد، الذي اشتغل بعد رحيل الحمولي مع يوسف المنيلاوي، وكان التسجيل وقتها قد بدأ في الانتشار والازدهار، فعزف تخت سهلون، الذي ضمّ محمّد إبراهيم على القانون، مع بعض المطربين لشركات الاسطوانات، كعبد الحيّ حلمي وأسما الكمسريّة، وغيرهم. كما سجّل هذا التخت العديد من الأعمال الآليّة، نستمع منها إلى شنبر الحجاز، والمسجّل لشركة فيفورت حوالي عام 1905، يعزف معه على القانون محمّد إبراهيم وعلى العود محمود القمركجي، التسجيل على وجه واحدٍ قطر 25 سم، إصدار 1-54507 مصفوفة 1203-F

كما سبق الذكر، رغم وجود تخت إبراهيم سهلون، إلا أنّ  هذا الأخيرظلّ في العمل ضمن تخت محمّد العقّاد حتّى عام 1909، كما أنّه كان ضيف العديد من التخوت كتخت أوديون الذي استضافه في حملة تسجيل أوديون عام 1904 في تسجلات الأسطوانات قياس 35 سم، خاصّةً مع محمّد سالم الكبير في بعض الأدوار، ومن تخت العقّاد الذي يعزف فيه إبراهيم سهلون على الكمان مع العقّاد على القانون وعلي عبدو صالح على الناي ومحمّد أبو كامل الرقّاق نستمع إلى بشرف سُزدلارة، ونلحظ فيه مزاجاً مرتفعاً لكمان إبراهيم سهلون، التسجيل لشركة الجراموفون عام 1908 على وجهين قطر 30 سم، رقم 018008 018009 مصفوفة 121 p 122 p…

كما هو ملاحظ، سجّل سهلون مع كلّ شركات الأسطوانات تقريباً، وكان يعزف في بعض التسجيلات على كمان سترو، وهو كمانٌ غير تقليديّ، فتكبير الصوت فيه ليس عن طريق صندوق الرنين الخشبيّ للآلة، بل عن طريق إبرةٍ تحت كلّ وترٍ تهتزّ بحركة القوس التي تسبّب اهتزاز الوتر، تتحرّك الإبرة لتحرّك بدورها قطعةً دائريّة رقيقةً من الجلد التي تنقل الصوت ليكبّر في بوقٍ نحاسيّ، وهي طريقةٌ تطابق تماماً طريقة تكبير الصوت في الفونوغراف. من أوضح الأمثلة على استخدامه هذا الكمان هو مارش السلطان محمّد الخامس، وهو تلحين منصور عوض، والذي سجّله معه مع شركة بيضافون على وجهٍ واحدٍ قياس 27 سم يُتبع بتقسيمٍ على الكمان، التسجيل رقم 12501 12502 حوالي عام 1912

تميّز أسلوب إبراهيم سهلون ببساطة الجملة اللحنيّة والقوس القصير ورشاقةٍ في يده اليسرى، وكان يدوزن الكمان حسب المقام على الطريقة العربيّة، وتتميّز تقاسيمه بالتركيز ونقل تفعيلة الجملة نفسها من مظهرٍ إلى أخر من قرار المقام إلى جوابه، وهو من القلائل الذين عزفوا التقسيم المجنّس، أي الذي يبدأ في مقامٍ وينتهي في آخر، وكان هذا دارجاً في الانتقال بين الوصلات على أنّ من سجّله قليلون جدّاً.

من تقاسيم إبراهيم سهلون نستمع إلى تقسيم بيّاتي سجّلها على وجهٍ واحدٍ قطر 27 سم، لشركة أورفيون التركيّة حوالي عام 1912، التسجيل رقم 10907 مصفوفة 1014

توقّف سهلون عن التسجيل منذ عام 1912، ويبدو أنّ توقّف معظم شركات التسجيل عن العمل له دخلٌ في هذا. ومن المحدّثين والصحافة آنذاك، نتأكّد أنّه لم يتوقّف عن العزف، رحل إبراهيم سهلون عام 1920 تاركاً أثراً لا يُنكر في الموسيقى افصحى العربيّة، خاصةً في شقّها الآلي وكذلك في عزف الكمان، وخلّف وراءه العديد من التلاميذ والمتأثّرين به، نذكر منهم، مصطفى بيه ممتاز، وكريم حلمي، وغيرهم الكثير.

عزف سهلون كافّة أشكال الموسيقى الآليّة ثابتةٍ ومرتجلة، وبرع فيها جميعاً. قال عنه سامي الشوّا في إحدى الحوارات أنّه إيطاليٌّ متمصّر، يعني بهذا أنّ أصله غير عربيّ، على أنّ عزفه يدلّ أنّه عروقه تجري فيها دماء الموسيقى العربيّة دون أيّ نزعة تفرنج.

ومن أغرب ما عزف إبراهيم سهلون، عملا أطلق عليه اسم بلبل الأفراح، هذا العمل الذي يُختم بلحنٍ ذا أصلٍ يونانيّ، لا يُعرف بالضبط كيف حفظه إبراهيم سهلون، ولا يوجد تسجيلٌ له من بعده إلا لفرقة مزامير، يتّضح تماماً أنّها نقلتها عنه هو بالذات، ليس عن تسجيلٍ يونانيّ. فالقسم الأوّل من المقطوعة ليس ضمن اللحن اليونانيّ الذي تحدّثنا عنه. نستمع إذن إلى بلبل الأفراح من إبراهيم سهلون وعبد الحميد القضّابي ومنصور عوض، مقام بيّاتي طاهر، ضرب أقصاق ذا 9 نبضات، التسجيل لشركة بيضافون على وجهٍ واحد قطر 27 سم، حوالي عام 1912، رقم 12519

إلى هنا أصدقاءنا المستمعين نصل إلى ختام حلقة اليوم من برنامج من التاريخ، إلى أن نلتقي في حلقةٍ جديدةٍ من هذا البرنامج، نترككم في الأمان.

 

013-MAQ-A, Mouhamed El Aqqad, Taxim Sahlon 004-ISL-1-A, Ibrahim Sahloun, Bulbul El Afarah

 

  2015  /  الإذاعة  /  Last Updated أبريل 8, 2015 by Naji Zahar  /  Tags:
WP-Backgrounds Lite by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann 1010 Wien

News, Newsletters & Subscription
You are here:   Home  /  Podcast  /  106 – Ibrāhīm Sahlūn, Min al-Tarikh

106 – Ibrāhīm Sahlūn, Min al-Tarikh

enar

 

002-MAQ-A, Mouhamed El Aqqad, Bashraf Suzdalara I 011-ISL-1-B, Ibrahim Sahloun, Taqsim Hijaz

 

The Arab Music Archiving and Research foundation (AMAR), in collaboration with the Sharjah Art Foundation (SAF), presents “Min al-Tārīkh”. 

Ibrāhīm Sahlūn is an Arab musician and kamān player who contributed to the Arab musical Nahḍa that started with ‘Abduh al-Ḥāmūlī and Muḥammad ‘Uthmān in Egypt in the second half of the 19th century.

His exact date of birth is not known: some say that he was born in the 1840s while a source mentioned that he was born in 1850. Moreover, his place of birth is also subject to some disagreement, as most oral and written sources state that he was born in Cairo, while according to some, he was born in Alexandria to a family who had come from Italy. Kāmil al-Khula‘ī stated that he was among the first to play the violin without having played the rabāba first, and that he imitated Ḥasan al-Jāhil who, according to some sources, shifted from the rabāba baḥriyya to the European violin positioned on the shoulder, known in Egypt at the time as the kamanja ifrankiyya, and in the Levant as the kamanja rūmī.

The Protocol and Ceremony register of the Khedivial Palace mentioned the name of Ibrāhīm Sahlūn repeatedly among those who performed in the palace’s events since 1868, i.e. in the era of Khedive Ismā‘īl. He was also a member of the delegation sent by the latter towards the end of Sultan ‘Abd al-‘Azīz’s era, i.e. in the mid-1870s, to the Topkapi Palace where he learned many instrumental works including bashraf and samā‘ī, as well as Greek Music… a subject we will discuss later on. 

These Turkish bashraf include the following bashraf ‘ushshāq composed by ‘Uthmān Bēk al-Ṭanbūrī –one of the major musicians in the Ottoman court during the eras of Sultans ‘Abd al-Majīd, ‘Abd al-‘Azīz, and ‘Abd al-Ḥamīd– to the Turkish ‘ushshāq, a bayyātī sub-maqām in Arabic theory, performed by Ibrāhīm Sahlūn accompanied by ‘Abd al-Ḥamīd al-Quḍḍābī and Manṣūr ‘Awaḍ, and recorded by Baidaphon around 1912 on two sides of a 27cm record, # 12516 and 12517…

(♩)

Ibrāhīm Sahlūn replaced Ḥasan al-Jāhil –after the latter’s death– as a kamān player in ‘Abduh al-Ḥāmūlī’s takht, i.e. the takht of Al-‘Aqqād, which constituted a major transition in his life, placing him on the throne of violin playing along with Anṭūn al-Shawwā, with Sahlūn playing in Al-Ḥāmūlī’s takht while Al-Shawwā played in Muḥammad ‘Uthmān’s takht.

Upon ‘Abduh al-Ḥāmūlī’s death, Ibrāhīm Sahlūn decided to form his own takht while continuing to work in the takht of Muḥammad al-‘Aqqād who accompanied Yūsuf al-Manyalāwī after Al-Ḥāmūlī died. In those days, recording had started to spread and prosper, and Sahlūn’s takht including Muḥammad Ibrāhīm (qānūn) made recordings with a number of muṭrib such as ‘Abd al-Ḥayy Ḥilmī and Asma al-Kumthariyya, and also recorded many instrumentals pieces such as the following shanbar ḥijāz performed by Ibrāhīm Sahlūn accompanied by Muḥammad Ibrāhīm (qānūn), Maḥmūd al-Qumrukjī (‘ūd) and recorded around 1905 by Favorite Records on one side of a 25cm record, order # 1-54507, matrix # 1203-F…

(♩)

As mentioned earlier, despite having his own takht, Ibrāhīm Sahlūn continued to play in Muḥammad al-‘Aqqād’s takht until 1909. Moreover, he played as a guest in numerous takht including Odeon’s takht during Odeon’s 1904 recording campaign, recording 35cm records, especially some dawr with Muḥammad Sālim al-Kabīr; and with Al-‘Aqqād’s takht accompanying Al-‘Aqqād (qānūn), ‘Alī ‘Abduh Ṣāliḥ (nāy), and Muḥammad Abū Kāmil al-raqqāq in the following bashraf suzdlāra characterized by the “high mood” of Ibrāhīm Sahlūn’s kamān, recorded in 1908 by Gramophone on two sides of a 30cm record, # 018008 and 018009, matrix # 121p and 122p…

(♩)

Sahlūn made records with almost all the recording companies. Furthermore, he made some recordings playing a straw kamān, i.e. a non-traditional kamān where the sound is not amplified through the instrument’s wood resonance box, but through the needle placed under each string and that vibrates under the bow strokes that move the strings: the needle vibrates and moves a circular thin leather piece that carries the sound to the brass horn that amplifies it… in a process similar to the phonograph’s sound amplifying process. The clearest examples on the use of this kamān include Sultan Muḥammad the fifth’s march composed by Manṣūr ‘Awaḍ whom Ibrāhīm Sahlūn accompanied in a recording made around 1912 by Baidaphon on one side of a 27cm record, followed by a kamān taqsīm, # 12502…

(♩) 

Ibrāhīm Sahlūn’s style is characterized by its simple melodic phrases, short bow strokes, and graceful left hand motion, as well as by the Arabic-style tuning of the kamān according to the maqām. His taqsīm are characterized by focused playing as well as by the carrying of the trochee of the phrase itself from one aspect to another, from the maqām’s qarār to its jawāb. Moreover, he is among the few who played the taqsīm mujannas, i.e. the taqsīm that starts to a certain maqām and ends to another one… a trend in going from one waṣla to another, yet recorded by very few.

Ibrāhīm Sahlūn’s taqsīm include the following taqsīm bayyātī recorded around 1912 by Turkish record company Orfeon on one side of a 27cm record, # 10907, matrix # 1014…

(♩)

Sahlūn stopped recording from 1912, probably because most recording companies had stopped recording. Yet, the period’s relators and written press confirm that he had not stopped playing.

Ibrāhīm Sahlūn died in 1920, leaving a significant mark in Classical Arab Music, notably in its instrumental aspect and in kamān playing. He also left numerous pupils and musicians influenced by his violin playing, including Muṣṭafa Bēk Mumtāz, and Karīm Ḥilmī.

Sahlūn excelled in playing all the fixed and improvised forms of instrumental music.

While Sāmī al-Shawwā described Ibrāhīm Sahlūn as an “Egyptianized Italian”, i.e. that he was not of Arab origin, Sahlūn’s playing shows that Arab Music flowed in his veins, free from any European influence.

The strangest pieces played by Ibrāhīm Sahlūn include “Bulbul al-afrāḥ” whose conclusion is an initially Greek melody Ibrāhīm Sahlūn had somehow memorized. The only recording of this piece, after Sahlūn’s, is by the Mazāmīr band that had clearly copied it from him and not from any Greek recording, the first section having nothing to do with the Greek melody.

Let us listen to “Bulbul al-afrāḥ” played by Ibrāhīm Sahlūn, ‘Abd al-Ḥamīd al-Quḍḍābī, and Manṣūr ‘Awaḍ, to the bayyātī ṭāhir, 9-pulse’ aqāq rhythm, recorded around 1912 by Baidaphon on one side of a 27cm record, # 12519.

 

013-MAQ-A, Mouhamed El Aqqad, Taxim Sahlon 004-ISL-1-A, Ibrahim Sahloun, Bulbul El Afarah

 

Dear listeners, we have reached the end of today’s episode.

We will meet again in a new episode of “Min al-Tārīkh”.

 

  2015  /  Podcast  /  Last Updated April 8, 2015 by Naji Zahar  /  Tags:
WP-Backgrounds Lite by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann 1010 Wien